New Martyr Basil of Optina: ”To love your neighbour as yourself, to pray for him as for yourself…”

On Love
We need to love everyone as we love ourselves, and be ready for death at any hour. But another thing is possible: to love your neighbour as yourself, to pray for him as for yourself; thus, seeing that the sins of your neighbour are your sins, you descend into hell with these sins for the sake of your neighbour’s salvation. “Lord, Thou gavest me love and changed everything for me, and now I cannot act in any other way; I can only go to torments for the salvation of my neighbour. I moan, I weep, I am terrified, but I cannot do anything else, for it is Thy love which leads me, and I do not want to part with it; in it I gain hope of salvation, and seeing it within me, I do not despair utterly.”

From the Diary of Hieromonk Basil Roslyakov, the New Martyr of Optina Monastery.

 

Source: Translation: A.Ljubimova, A.Martchuk, N.Volkova, L.Zholudeva, edited by fr. Savvatij (Lewis)

Put your comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑